### **FAQ Sheet**

## **National Board of Respiratory Care**

Immediately following confirmation of all academic requirements for the program, you will be entered as a graduate into the NBRC Electronic Eligibility Database. At the time, you can contact the NBRC to schedule your exam by first going online to complete your application.

# https://www.nbrc.org/

TMC (Therapist Multiple Choice) Exam Fee \$ 190

Two Cut Scores: Lower Cut Score CRT (Certified Respiratory Therapist)

Higher Cut Score RRT Eligible (Registry Eligible)

Eligible for the CSE

CSE (Clinical Simulation Exam) Exam Fee \$ 200

# South Carolina Board of Medical Examiners State Licensure

In order to work after graduation in the State of South Carolina, you must be licensed.

https://llr.sc.gov/med/rcp.aspx

#### <u>Limited Respiratory Care Practitioner</u>

Can apply prior to graduation – approximately 45 days prior (Section 40-47-655)

- Submit your application by making the \$40 application fee via Visa, Mastercard or E-Check.
  A returned check fee of up to \$30, or an amount specified by law, may be assessed on all returned funds.
- Upload a copy of your valid Driver's License, State Issued ID, Passport or Military ID
- Upload a copy of your social security card
- Upload legal documentation for name change
- Upload Notarized Signature Form with 2x2 professional photo
- Upload Verification of Lawful Presence
- Affidavit of Respiratory Care Program Director
- Must apply for **Permanent** License within 6 months after graduation

## <u>Update from Limited to Permanent License Application</u>

- The application fee for an "Update" licensure is \$80
- Copy of CRT OR RRT FROM THE NATIONAL BOARD OF RESPIRATORY CARE
- Copy of Diploma from RESPIRATORY PROGRAM (if applicable)

### **Permanent License:**

In order to qualify for a license as a respiratory care practitioner the applicant must submit an application either online electronically or paper submission on forms provided by the Board and must show that he/she meets the following requirements (Section 40-47-600): passage of the entry level examination given by the National Board for Respiratory Care, Inc., or other examination or requirement that may be approved

# Submit with your application:

- Submit your application by making the \$120 application fee via Visa, MasterCard or E- Check. A returned check fee of up to \$30, or an amount specified by law, may be assessed on all returned funds.
- Copy of your valid Driver's License, State Issued ID, Passport or Military ID
- Copy of your social security card
- Legal documentation for name change
- Notarized Signature Form with 2x2 professional photo
- Verification of Lawful Presence
- Copy of CRT or RRT National Board Certificate or examination results
- Physician Sponsor Statement, if performing home care duties
- Copy of Respiratory Care Diploma or have an <u>official</u> transcript sent to the Board.
  Transcript must include the confer (graduation) date